Friday, January 02, 2009

Second Members Exhibition for February 2009

Happy New Year! Hope everyone had a great Christmas too.

The Gawler Community Gallery Committee is aware that due to administrative difficulties and other technical problems that many members did not receive enough notice (if any at all) to exhibit in the December 2008 – February 2009 members exhibition.

Whilst this is again short notice the Committee is pleased to offer members another chance to exhibit their works in the Galleries upstairs exhibition rooms from February 12th to March 15th 2009.

Each artwork to be exhibited will be charged a $3.00 entry fee with a maximum of FOUR artworks per artist. Entry forms and fees must be returned by February 1st 2009.

Members who have artworks in the current members exhibition can, if they wish, simply carry these works over into the new members exhibition however entry fees will still apply and you must submit your entry form regardless (tick the space provided on the form if you are carrying works over so we know we have them at the gallery already).

Whilst we are happy to carry works over from the previous exhibition we highly recommend submitting new or different works to facilitate a fresh exhibition for our regular visitors and to maximize your sales opportunities.

Please review the entry form for full details which can be downloaded from the Galleries homepage (under the View/Print Documents heading).

For your convenience artworks can be delivered to the gallery on Sunday February 8, between 4-6pm – at the same time works from the current members exhibition are to be collected.

Should you have any questions please contact The Secretary on 8522 7531 (Home phone Number) or via email:

The Committee looks forward to your involvement and continued support of Gawler’s only Community Art Gallery.


The Gawler Community Gallery Committee.

Gawler Community Gallery A.G.M. 2008

Following a daunting but delicious main course at the Prince Albert Hotel, Committee members were elected for the next twelve months.

  • President: Judy Ferguson

  • Vice president: Thelma Kirkwood

  • Secretary: David Arandle

  • Treasurer: Ellen Styne

  • Shop Coordinator: Tara Evans

  • Program Manager: Joanne Hughes

  • Newsletter: Jeannine Randall

  • Roving Brief: Margaret Farrugia

On behalf of the members, the president thanked those members who are no longer serving. Carol Clue, Marilyn Tucker, Sandra Sullivan, and Shirley Shaw have given a great deal to the Gallery during the consolidating years, and we deeply appreciate their enormous contribution.

Judy stressed the need for change and growth in the Gallery. She believes that the enthusiasm and ideas contributed by a changing committee is important. As this will be her last year as president, Judy has asked members to begin considering their willingness to nominate for office at next year’s A.G.M.

- Article From December 2008 Newsletter, written and edited by Jeannine Randall.